Giving Thanks

This year, I am thankful for….

  • My family.  They may be a little weird (now you know where I get it from) and perhaps they drive me a little crazy, but they’re mine and I wouldn’t trade them for the world.
  • My boyfriend.  Even though we really haven’t been together very long in the grand scheme of things, he has seen me through some of the toughest times in my life, and has stood by my side for all of it.  A couple months ago we went through a really rough patch due to some health issues on my part and I know it was difficult for him to even be with me, but he helped me realize that I needed to get some help and was there for me every step of the way.  Between that and the dinners he cooks while I’m in class, I know I couldn’t find a better man for me if I looked for the rest of my life.  I love you, Boy.
  • My friends.  If it wasn’t for having friends that I could talk to when times are bad, I don’t know where I’d be today.  Plus they’re always up for a drink when that’s what I need, too!  What’s not to love?!
  • The friend I lost.  She knows my deepest, darkest secrets and never judged me.  It breaks my heart to know we screwed it up.  Lack of communication on both parts and years of friendship were lost.  I was blessed to have her in my life, even if it was for too short a time.  If you have a friend that you can’t imagine not having in your life, tell them.  My biggest regret is that we let our friendship fade.  She helped make me the person I am today.  I miss her more than words can say.
  • My health.  I might not be the healthiest person (far from it), but I’m still here.
  • My job.  In a tough economy when there is so much loss all around, I’m very thankful that I have my job.  Thankful that I’m in an industry that, while it might not be thriving, has remained steady enough that I’m able to keep my job.
  • School.  Even though it kicks my ass most of the time, I’m thankful that I’m able to go to school to give myself a better future.  I took six years off in between my first and second years of college for many reasons, and I’m glad I went back when I did.  Even if I won’t be able to get a job when I graduate because the economy sucks, at least I’ll be able to say I have my degree.

I know I missed a bunch of other things that make me happy, but since I’m in New York with Joe’s family watching the Jets game, it’s a bit loud in here and I can’t really concentrate.  But there’s nowhere else I’d rather be right now.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

This entry was posted in I'm Random, What I Do and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Thanks

  1. Mom says:

    I wouldn’t trade you for the world, either. Or Joe. Or your sister. And I’m not surprised to hear that we (me? I?) drive you a little crazy. But then, insanity is inherited, you get if from your kids.

Leave a Reply

