Timber!

It’s that time of year again.  You know the one I’m talking about.  When you are full of stress, agonizing over making the right choices, and wondering if you will make it through without losing all of your sanity.

Time to put up the Christmas decorations.

In my family, we always waited until my grandfather’s birthday to put the decorations up.  We lost him earlier this year, so I really wanted to hold on to tradition.  His 84th birthday would have been tomorrow.  It makes me miss him even more to think that he’ll never get to have another birthday, but I know he’s in a better place now where he’s no longer suffering.

I lost the Christmas decoration fight this year.  Joe wanted to put the decorations up as soon as we got home from New York after Thanksgiving.  We compromised and decided to do it the weekend before my grandpa’s birthday.

Sunday when I got home from work, Joe had all of the Christmas boxes pulled into the living room.  We hurried to get the tree up before the Colts game started and waffled over putting the lights on because he only had multicolor lights and I had my heart set on white.  It was finally decided that I would go to Target after the game to find white lights.

When the game was over and all of us Colts fans were wishing we could drink our sorrows away, I went to Target to find white lights only to discover that I am not the only one who prefers them over multicolored ones.  They’re shelves were empty where there should have been boxes full of white twinkle lights.  I hurried to Wal-Mart and got excited when I saw bunches of white lights, only to have my hopes dashed when I realized they had white wires.  Dejected, I went home and told Joe we could use the multicolored lights this year, if he promised not to get upset when I go out next year and buy as many white lights as I can find as soon as the Christmas stuff comes into the store.  You know, a couple of weeks before Halloween.

After watching the end of Sunday Night Football, we went to bed with a sad, empty Christmas tree standing by our front window.  Monday morning we woke up to this:

Toppled tree

Remember those cats I mention from time to time?  Well one of them decided it would be a good idea to try and climb the new toy we put in the living room just! for! him!  Unfortunately for our curious little kitty, the tree, and the stand, couldn’t support his weight and toppled.  Yep, our little Everest broke the Christmas tree stand.  Which we discovered when we tried to upright the tree.

Thankfully, someone on twitter (Hi Bill!) knew that Menard’s sells replacement stands for artificial trees, so before class on Monday I went there and bought a replacement stand.  Made of steel.  Virtually unbreakable.  Especially resistant against a 7-pound kitty.

Last night we finally got the tree back up, lighted (with white lights! From Hobby Lobby!  If you’re looking for white lights, go there.  They have a TON!), and decorated.

It finally feels like Christmas in our home.

I apologize for the poor quality of these photos.  Currently I am relying solely on the camera on my phone to take all of my pictures.  My camera was stolen from me two years ago and I am waiting to hit the lottery so I can buy my Canon DSLR.  Feel free to contribute to the camera fund if you are tired of my ugly photos.

This entry was posted in What I Do and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

