Whew!!

It looks like we all made it through another Christmas season!

How was it?  Did you get everything on your Christmas list?  If you didn’t have a list, were you happy about what was waiting for you under the tree?

I spent almost the entire day in the kitchen cooking the Christmas dinner, and I didn’t even get to the rolls or the green beans.  The turkey came out of the oven two hours before the rest of the food was done, and I had to stoop to stuffing out of the box in order to have everything done at about the right time.

I came to the conclusion that I just need another oven.  That’s really the only solution to my problem.  No way I could possibly have put more than one thing in the oven at the same time.  Nope.  Can’t be done.

I did get the (homemade) cinnamon rolls done in time for “breakfast”.  Noon is totally breakfast time.

Oh!  And thanks to Nichole, I learned how to brine my turkey (YUM!!) and I learned that my oven usually runs about 25 degrees cooler than it’s supposed to since she gave me her old oven thermometer.

Speaking of Nichole, we spent Christmas Eve at her house with a bunch of her closest friends and had a ton of fun at their annual Convenience Store Christmas Party.  I picked the best gift, a lumberjack hat and some cheesy puffs, which got stolen almost immediately.  Boo.  I did end up with a werewolf flashlight and a “little chub” sausage stick.  I miss that hat.

Waiting for me under our tree was a BUNCH of Colts gear and a mandolin slicer.  SO EXCITED!  Now I can slice and crinkle cut and julienne without gouging my fingers or taking a ton of time.  I’m sloooow with a knife.  Too worried about my fingers and keeping them in one piece.

After presents I started my marathon cooking flurry while Joe vacuumed and got our house all pretty since my mom and sister were coming over for dinner.

After dinner it was time to exchange gifts with my family and ZOMG I got a digital camera!! It’s a Nikon something-or-other and I’m stupid excited about it.  It has the big viewing screen and is tiny enough to stick in my pocket, and I can’t wait to play with it.

Sunday was Christmas at my dad’s in Marion.  I lugged up all of the dinners I made for my gramma – who LOVED them – and gifts for everyone, and Joe watched the Jets game on his phone.  It’s what he does.

AND I documented the events of the evening on my brand. new. camera.

This entry was posted in I Love Holidays, What I Do and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

