Tomato Sauce with Sausage

Monday night I had planned to heat up some of the sauce I made a while back and cook some pasta to go with it.  Unfortunately, I waited too long to take the sauce out of the freezer and when dinner time came around, I still had a frozen block.  No red sauce for us.

That is, until I remembered I had a couple of cans of tomato sauce in the cabinet and some breakfast sausage in the fridge.  I threw some ingredients together and ended up making some darn good sauce.  So I don’t forget it for the future — and so you all can enjoy this sauce, too — I decided I’d post it here.

Tomato Sauce with Sausage

Ingredients

1 lb mild breakfast sausage (this is just what I had, I’m sure bulk Italian sausage would work even better)

3 T Italian seasoning

1 medium white onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

2 15 oz cans tomato sauce

1 6 oz can tomato paste

Spices (all to taste):

Italian seasoning

Dried basil

Dried oregano

Dried parsley

Crushed red pepper flakes

Salt

Pepper

Using fingers, combine breakfast sausage and 3 T Italian  seasoning (if using bulk Italian sausage, skip this step) (also, I just mushed my sausage and seasoning together right in the pan and then crumbled.  easier and it doesn’t dirty another dish).  Crumble into large skillet and brown over medium heat.  When cooked through, transfer to plate covered with paper towels to drain, retaining a little of the fat to cook the onions and garlic.  Return skillet to stove and add onions and garlic.  Cook until onions are tender, about 5 minutes, adding 1-2 T olive oil if pan looks too dry.  When onions are tender, add tomato sauce and tomato paste, stirring to combine.  Return sausage to pan and season with the dried spices, to taste.  Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

I used bow tie pasta with this and added the pasta right to the skillet when it was done.  I tossed it all together and added some shredded Parmesan cheese when I plated it.  It was soooo good!  Even Joe loved it, and that’s saying something!

This entry was posted in I cook, What I Do and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

