151. And no, it isn’t rum

I know I’ve said it before.  Everyone has.  Sometimes it takes a little kick in the ass to get moving.

I got that kick in the ass the other day when I stepped on the scale at work.

It was the highest number I have ever seen.

OK, so maybe I’ve seen higher numbers.  Paychecks have been higher (thank goodness!).  The numbers I read in all of my accounting classes have been higher.  I’ve seen higher numbers when other people get on the scale.  People who are taller and should weigh more than I do.  But I have never seen a number that high when it comes to me and my weight.

It has gotten out of control.

I told myself before that there was no way I could eat healthily during the holidays.  I mean, really, who is going to turn down mashed potatoes, pecan pie, and those delicious butter cookies that come in the famous blue tin?  Not me, that’s for sure.

Oh, and the staying-away-from-the-break-room-at-work rule?  Totally broken.  There were the holidays.  There have been birthdays.  There was even a bridal shower last week.  And with all of those occasions comes cake, ice cream, candy….you name it.  We have some hella good bakers in the pharmacy department at the hospital.  (Remember I said that when I pimp tell you about the bake sale for the March of Dimes here in a couple of months.)  It would be a sin to not enjoy all of the baked goodies that come in on a near daily basis.  And I am not one to sin.  OK so I am.  But not when baked goods are involved!

What has all of this not-sinning lead to?  A scary high number on the scale.

What was that number?  I’m going to break the Code of Women and tell you.  Along with a bunch of other numbers that are too high. (And one that is pretty low, but unchangeable.  At least without the proper footwear.)

Katie by the Numbers

  • Height – 5′ 3/4″
  • Weight – 151.6 pounds
  • Bust – 35 1/2″
  • Waist – 31″
  • Hips – 43 3/4″ (Guess where I carry all of my weight!)
  • Upper arms – 12 1/2″
  • Thighs – 26 1/2″
  • Calves – 16 1/2″

Why did I choose to torture myself by putting those numbers out there?  Because.  If I have to look at those numbers whenever I go back to look through old posts, it is going to motivate me to do something to change them.  Just knowing they’re out there for all the world to see will motivate me to change them.  It also serves as a starting point.  In a few months when some pounds and inches have (hopefully!) been lost, I can come back to this post and measure the progress I’ve made.  That in itself will motivate me to keep working toward my goal.  Which I haven’t set.  Not technically, anyway.  My goal is to feel comfortable in my skin and my clothes.  Everything is too tight now and I just don’t like it.  Even my skin feels tight.

Now, I know what you’re going to say.  150 pounds isn’t really all that much!  Trust me, it is when you’re not even 5’1″.  When you’re as short as I am, even a few pounds gained or lost makes a pretty big difference.  It is definitely noticeable if I gain or lose even as little as five pounds.

How I plan to meet my hazy goal hasn’t changed much from that post I wrote before Thanksgiving.  I will exercise for at least 40 minutes per day, three days a week.  I’m going to try my damnedest to make it to the fitness center before I have to be at work (5:15 am hurts, though!).  If I don’t make it in before work, I have enough time between work and my classes to work out then.  I will eat as balanced a diet as being away from home for 14 hours most days will allow.  I will pack lunches at night to avoid the rushing around before work, stuff anything edible into my lunch box trap in the mornings.  I’m going to start pilates again when my schedule allows.  And last (and best!), I will give myself a cheat day every week to eat whatever I want without worry or guilt.  It is so much easier to avoid eating “bad” foods when you know you can have those foods in just a few days.  I even buy those foods during the week and stash them away for my Sunday cheat day.

And perhaps most important… I will only weigh and measure myself once a month to gauge my progress.  Which I will then share with you.  Since we are so close to February, my current numbers will count as my February numbers.  I won’t measure again until March.  I am hopeful that there will be progress to share.

This entry was posted in I'm a Real Person, I'm posting once a week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 151. And no, it isn’t rum

  1. Whoa – we may have nearly the exact same numbers. I’ve got about 2 inches in height and 3 or 4 lbs on you. I so get the frustration, though. I’m not at my heaviest anymore, but I had that come-to-Jesus moment when I saw that number on the scale and couldn’t believe I had let myself get there. I was doing well until winter hit, and with no gym membership just couldn’t drag myself out to run in the snow. Kudos to you for putting those numbers out there, and best of luck in getting to that comfortable place again.

Leave a Reply

